A Weekend of Running at Red Rocks and Golden Colorado

So, I have a race coming up on Sunday. This will be my first half marathon in 2015. I signed up for it 4 weeks ago and that was also when I started my training. I have not been running every day; however, I have ran at least 3 times a week. When I do run, I put in between 5 to 10 miles. Furthermore, half of those runs have taken place on mountain trails and mountain side walks. So, lots of hilly runs as well as hiking. Here’s a glimpse of my training schedule:

On Friday (1/30/15) , I ran 5.5 miles of rocky hills at Red Rocks. Then, when  I got home I completed 1.5 miles of hills. I took both dogs with me and the brown dog was exhausted by the end of the run. I am proud to report I ran the whole way up and down the hills. I will admit I took it easy on the uphill because it was filled with ankle breakin’ rocks.

pic 9

This is the trail I took during the run. Eventually, the trails meet up. I took the Red Rocks Trail. Uphill and hard!

pic 1

Matthew Winters Park- Red Rocks Trail- The top

pic 7

Before the run

pic 6

The middle of the run

pic 2 pic 3 pic 4 pic 5

On Saturday, I ran 7 miles in Golden, Colorado. I ran through the Coors Brewery and along the river in Golden. It was great run and started snowing afterwards. Check out my next post for my 2.1.15 snow trail run.

About hungryrunner86

My life has revolved around strengthening communities, travel, and healthy living. I have decided to write this blog to document my adventures in Colorado. Join me as I share my journey related to hiking, running long distances, reading fascinating books, and my overall experiences in Colorado.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment