Mount Falcon- Completed Castle Trail- 9.2 miles-1.23.15

P1030815

The view from Walker’s Dream Trail

Location: Mount Falcon- Castle Trail- Morrison to the West Parking Area

Miles Completed: 9.2 Miles Round Trip

Terrain: If you start from the Morrison Trailhead, it’s all uphill for the first 2.5 miles. Then it evens out for a mile. After that, it’s all uphill again.

Weather- 50 degrees. Snow and/or ice on the trail. I would recommend use traction for snow and ice. I did not use it and I did fall a couple of times.

I started at the east area parking in Morrison. I took Castle Trail all the way to the west parking entrance. I did not believe I would be able to do this because of the snow as well as the uncertain feelings that I would get tired. I would say halfway there, I thought I would stop in 30 minutes. Well, the time flew by and I made it to the West area entrance. Apart from feeling accomplished, I had so much energy. That energy probably came from the adrenaline.

I hiked this with my Keens and the two dogs. I also brought 2 liters of water in my camelback. Upon getting home, I evaluated my water supply and determined I drank 1 liter of water. Pretty much it was 4.7 miles of uphill and that was where my water was consumed.

When you start the trail, you get a pretty good view of Red Rocks. The distance between the trail and Red Rocks is no more than 5 miles.  The first mile doesn’t have many trees. The trees emerge near the Turkey Trot and Castle Rock connection. I did not take Turkey Trot trail; however, I can tell you it’s 1.7 miles and only open to hikers.

P1030770

Red Rocks

P1030778

There were at least 10 deer at the top. I only caught two in this photo.

P1030791

Flat trail…yeehaw!

P1030788 P1030799

At the first junction of Castle Trail and Meadow Trail, you come upon the Walker Home Ruins. After that site, the trail eventually leads to the next junction of Meadow Trail. This is where you begin the ascent to the Tower Trail and the decent to Parmalee Trail.

P1030793 P1030796

On the way back, I decided to take Walker’s Dream Trail. It’s 0.6 miles roundtrip and filled with amazing vistas. 100% worth the extra trip. Once you come down from Walker’s Dream Trail, you catch back up to Castle Trail which leads to the trailhead in Morrison.

P1030823

Dawson

P1030820

Deuce

P1030813 P1030826 P1030827 P1030830

The top of Castle Trail was beautiful as always.

P1030810

My Keens treated me so well on this hike!

P1030802 P1030801 P1030806

Next Step: It would be so awesome if I could run this whole trail. I would need to conquer it in steps or maybe I could just do it one round. I don’t know, but I am excited.

Currently Listening to: Nothing Arrived: Villagers, Middle of the Bed, Lucy Rose, and How Come You Never Go There, Feist

About hungryrunner86

My life has revolved around strengthening communities, travel, and healthy living. I have decided to write this blog to document my adventures in Colorado. Join me as I share my journey related to hiking, running long distances, reading fascinating books, and my overall experiences in Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado Hiking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment