11/4/15- Mandarin Lesson #1

This is my first post regarding my quest to learn Mandarin. My hope is that I will be able to use a variety of resources to learn this in a low-cost fashion. To be more specific, this means I would prefer to use free resources. So, if you can suggest a free resource, I would appreciate your input.

A quick overview regarding Mandarin. Mandarin has served as the language of China since the 15th century. The common language of the Han Nationality is Mandarin Chinese. It’s also the official language of the People’s Republic of China.  Chinese for Dummies 2nd edition, reported there are seven major Chinese dialects; however, you can simply say Hànyŭ anywhere to refer to Mandarin..

So, here’s what I learned today.

Chinese Phrases for Week 1- English Translation- English Sound

Mandarin Word- English Translation- the way it sounds in English

  1. Nῐ hӑo- hello- (Knee how)
  2. Ni Jiào Shénme Mingzi- What’s your name?- (knee-giao-shenmuh-meengzah
  3. Wǒ jiὰo- My name is- (wah-giao)
  4. Xièxie- thank you- (Shyeh-shyeh)
  5. Zàijiàn-See you- (dseye-gyhang or sigh-gian)

There are four different tones. They reduce the number of homophones in Chinese

First ToneĀ– mother- maa- the tone is as high as your individual pitch range can be without wavering.

Second ToneÁ– hemp- the tone goes up like you are asking a question

Third ToneӐ– horse- mau, the tone falls then rises. The third tones starts in the middle level of your voice range and then falls deeply before slightly rising at the end.

Fourth ToneÀ– to scold-the tone sounds like you are giving someone an order. Falls from the high pitch.

Tone Rules

  • When you have to say one third tone followed by another third tone out loud in consecutive fashion, the first tone becomes a second tone.
  • Half Third Tones- Whenever a third tone is followed by any of the other tones- it becomes a half-third tone. You pronounce only the first half of the tone- the falling tone,
  • Neutral Tones- there is no tone mark over a fifth tone. bὰba ( father)
  • Tonal Changes in means one- sounds (ee) and means not or no- sounds like boo. These two words are unusual in Chinese because their tones may change depending on what comes after them. As I learn more about this, I will update you.

Resources I Used For This Session:

  • Free Chinese videos on coursera.org
  • Chinese for Dummies 2nd Editionwritten by Dr. Wendy Abraham

My plan for this week: Practice the initial and final consonants. Also practice the five phrases list above.

What’s easy so far? Nῐ hӑo- Hello

What’s hard so far? Becoming familiar with how the tones and the various consonants are pronounced.

Xièxie- Gracias- Thank You

About hungryrunner86

My life has revolved around strengthening communities, travel, and healthy living. I have decided to write this blog to document my adventures in Colorado. Join me as I share my journey related to hiking, running long distances, reading fascinating books, and my overall experiences in Colorado.
This entry was posted in Mandarin 101- Hànyŭ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment