Lair o’the Bear Park- Bear Creek Trail- 12/22/14

Greetings Virtual World!

After I completed the Corwina Park Trail, I felt cheated on my hike, so I ventured to another area for more hiking.

Lair O’the Bear Park- Bear Creek Trail–  2 miles completed

Before I started on the trail, I spent some time analyzing the map. There were hiker only trails, multi-use trails, and then the creek side loop was not open to dogs. So, I knew I couldn’t access the creek side loop. I assume it’s because they don’t want dogs contaminating the flowing water. It was also clear within the sign that the dipper bridge was closed. Not just closed, but completely gated up.

P1030567

It was clear that crossing the bridge was not acceptable.

P1030568

The sound of flowing water is magical and soothing.

So, the dogs and I continued past the bridge. This trail is perfect for trail running. No sudden hills and a clear path. I plan on returning once my training begins in January.

Interesting things I saw on the trail:

1) A castle which I believe would be a perfect wedding destination.

P1030586 P1030592

2) A couple completing a trail run with a small dog in a baby chest swing. I thought about it and determined that dog either cannot go long distances, is too slow, or it just prefers to watch the scenery without doing much work. It was pretty funny either way.

3) The dogs ended up walking on some ice and Dawson ( the brown dog) learned that you can’t rely on ice to be safe. Essentially, he ran onto the ice, jumped off the ice into some slow running water, and then tried to jump back on the ice. It took me roughly 5 seconds to discover he was in trouble. As I ran to the spot, I thought how am I going to help him without getting wet. Luckily, he got out on his own. Thank you Labrador and Ice gods.

4) I really enjoyed the cute brides on this trail.

P1030571

First bridge after the closed bridge.

P1030581

Second bridge ( rather sturdy as well as)

 

5) Final and most important point! The Bear Creek Trail connects to the trail that ended at Corwina Park.

P1030589

Yes, Bear Creek Trail connects to Corwina Park!

P1030587

This trail eventually leads to Pence Park.

P1030590

Follow this trail alongside Highway 74 to access Corwina Park

 

Furthermore, the Bear Creek trail connects to Pence Park. I completed the Pence Park last week.. stay tuned for photos.

 

About hungryrunner86

My life has revolved around strengthening communities, travel, and healthy living. I have decided to write this blog to document my adventures in Colorado. Join me as I share my journey related to hiking, running long distances, reading fascinating books, and my overall experiences in Colorado.
This entry was posted in Colorado Hiking, Dogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Lair o’the Bear Park- Bear Creek Trail- 12/22/14

Leave a comment